World Economic Forum honors two Ethiopians

leadership_models.jpgBy Liza Daniel, 4 March 2010 — The World Economic Forum (WEF) has announced its annual Young Global Leaders (YGL) honorees. Two Ethiopians, supermodel Liya Kebede and journalist and visiting scholar at Stanford university, Abebe Gellaw, are named among the Young Global Leaders honorees (Picture Journalist Abebe Gellaw (left) with supermodel Liya Kebede).

In a press release it issued today, the World Economic Forum noted that the honor was bestowed on 197 Young Global Leaders who were selected from a pool of nearly 5000 nominees from around the world for their “professional accomplishments, commitment to society and potential to contribute to shaping the future of the world.”

This year’s list of Young Global Leaders, who are all below the age of 40, include tennis star Roger Federer, Evan Williams, Co-founder and CEO of Twitter, Steven Chen, Co-founder and Chief Technologist of Youtube, Jon Favorue, Obama’s chief speech writer, Wyclef Jean, Singer and Founder of Yélé Haiti Foundation, Nelson Mandela’s grandson and South African Member of Parliament, Mandla Mandela, Saudi Arabian Prince Khalid Bin Bandar Bin Sultan, Crown Princess Mette-Marrit of Norway, sixteen ministers from around the world and many CEOs.
“I am not only thrilled but also humbled to be included in this year’s World Economic Forum list of honorees. I will take advantage of this global opportunity to promote the causes that are closer to the heart of Ethiopians such as the struggle for freedomm, respect for human rights and dignity in Ethiopia,” Abebe said.

“I will start this exciting journey later this month at Harvard Kennedy School of Government, where I will attend a leadership course specially designed for YGL honorees. For the next five years, the opportunity offers me wider perspectives on issues that affect the world and on how decent leadership and governments operate around the world to address the pressing challenges facing humanity,” he noted.

This year’s honorees were selected by a committee chaired by H.M. Queen Rania Al Abdullah of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan and comprised of eminent international media leaders including Steve Forbes, CEO of Forbes Media, James Murdoch CEO of News Corporation-UK, Arthur Sulzgerber , Chairman and Publisher of the New York Times, Tom Glocer, CEO of Thomson Reuters and Elizabeth Weymouth, Editor-at-Large and Special Diplomatic Correspondent of Newsweek.


Share Button
Disclaimer: We are not responsible for any losses or damages that may have caused by using our services. EMF declines all responsibility for the contents of the materials stored by users. Each and every user is solely responsible for the posts.
Posted by on March 4, 2010. Filed under NEWS. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.