Hailemariam Desalegn announces appointment of 21 new ministers

workneh-and-debretsionHailemariam Desalegn has announced on tuesday  appointment of 21 new ministers  amid a political chaos which have led to the declaration of a state of emergency.

There are no fresh faces among the appointed ministries.

Foreign Minister Tedros Adhanom is replaced by the controvercial Workneh Gebeyehu W/ Kidan.

Defence Minister Siraj Fegessa – who is overseeing the state of emergency – remains in his position.

The unpopular Redwaan Hussein, minister of youth and sports, and Getachew Reda, minister of government communications are removed form their post.

Below is the new list posted on FanaBC:

Cabinet members who remained in their previous posts:-

1. Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen

2. Siraj Fegessa – Minister of Defense

3. Kassa Tekleberhan- Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoral Area Development

4. Dr Debretsion Gebremichael –Minister of Communication and Information Technology

5. Ahmed Abitew –Minister of Industry

6. Getachew Ambaye- Attorney General

7. Abdulfetah Abdulah – Minister of Labor and Social Affairs

8. Dr Yinager Dese- Commissioner of National Planning Commission

9. Asmelash Woldesilasie – Chief Government Whip

Newly appointed cabinet members

1. Dr Workneh Gebeyehu – Minister of Foreign Affairs

2. Tagese Chafo- Minister of Public Service and Human Resource Development

3. Dr Abreham Tekeste- Minister of Finance and Economic Cooperation

4. Dr Bekele Gulado- Minister of Trade

5. Professor Fekadu Beyene- Minister of Livestock and Fishery

6. Dr Eyasu Abrha- Minister of Farming and Natural resources

7. Dr Engineer Getahun Mekuria- Minister of Science and Technology

8. Ahmed Shide- Minister of Transport

9. Dr Ambachew Mekonnen- Minister of Urban Development and Housing

10. Engineer Aisha Mohammed- Minister of Construction

11. Dr. Engineer Sileshi Bekele- Minister of Water, Irrigation and Eelectricity

12. Motuma Mekassa- Minister of Mines Petroleum and Natural Resources

13. Dr Gemedo Dale- Minister of Environmental, Forest and Climate Change

14. Dr Shiferaw Tekelemariam – Minister of Education

15. Professor Yifru Berhane- Minister of Health

16. Dr Girma Amente- Minister of Public Enterprise

17. Dr Hirut Woldemariam- Minister of Culture and Tourism

18. Demitu Hambissa- Minister of Women’s and Children’s Affairs

19. Ristu Yirdaw- Minister of Youth and Sports

20. Kebede Chane- Minister of Ethiopian Revenues and Costumes Authority

21. Dr Negeri Lencho- Minister of Government Communication Affairs Office

Share Button
Disclaimer: We are not responsible for any losses or damages that may have caused by using our services. EMF declines all responsibility for the contents of the materials stored by users. Each and every user is solely responsible for the posts.
Posted by on November 1, 2016. Filed under FEATURED. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

2 Responses to Hailemariam Desalegn announces appointment of 21 new ministers

  1. Diriba

    November 1, 2016 at 11:28 AM

    ይህ የሚያሳየው የኢትዮጵያ መሪዎች ችግር ዉስጥ ሲገቡ ኦሮሞን ይሾማሉ::

  2. Sirak Tegabru

    November 1, 2016 at 10:41 PM

    This is not radical change, this is just shuffling play card with in the same box.
    As we understand it, active citizenship is a combination of knowledge, attitude, skills and actions that aim to contribute to building and maintaining a democratic society. Active Citizenship supports democratic cooperation that is based on the acceptance of universal human rights and the rule of law, values diversity and includes the whole community. Political parties are a central feature of any democracy. They are the vehicles by which citizens come together freely to campaign for public office, express their interests and needs, and define their aspirations for their society. While there are parties without democracy, there can be no democracy without political parties. Parties in many countries may be flawed, but they are also indispensable in democratic governance.